Talk is Cheap (and so is paint, thankfully)

Poor, sad, neglected little blog.

I should know better than to make proclamations like “I’m Baaaaaaaack”.  That’s apparently an excellent way to immediately disappear from the Internet altogether. So I’m not doing that today! I’ll just say “I’m here” and leave it at that.

We’ve covered Part One of the Great Paint Meltdown of 2010, and the subsequent victory over insanity, but there was another disaster going on that I just couldn’t bring myself to talk about. Until now.

The kitchen.

You see, I initially picked out the color for the kitchen in about 5 minutes. I saw the chip in a Sherwin Williams special “Carolina Low Country Colors” brochure and knew right away that I loved it and it would be miiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiine.   Heck, even the name of the color (Sullivan’s Island) brought to mind warm blue skies and beaches in the midst of our horrible, snow-filled winter.  How could I lose?  Done and done.

So Russ and I did one coat and then the next morning my dear, sweet husband got up and painted the second coat before I was even awake (y’all, he gets up at 4 or 5, it’s not like I’m sleeping until noon!).  So I stumble into the kitchen at 7, rubbing my eyes and really touched to see that it was all finished, except for one tiny little problem.

I hated it. HATED IT.  I didn’t really like it after the first coat, but I know that sometimes the second coat makes all the difference.  In this case it did: I went from ‘not liking it so much’ to ‘DEAR LORD WHAT HAVE I DONE’ in the time it took to pour a glass of OJ.

Fortunately for me my dear, sweet husband was more than willing to repaint only moderately annoyed with me (truthfully, he was far, far less annoyed than I would have been had the tables been turned).   He urged me to live with it for a week to see if I changed my mind.

Nope.

What was supposed to be a light and beachy color just looked anemic, sad, and frankly rather institutional.  Though I has admired similar colors in other places, it was clear it just wasn’t going to work here.

A week went by and I still hated it. Problem was, I had descended right back into paint chip hell and was in a nearly catatonic state.  I was so terrified of painting it the wrong color AGAIN that I couldn’t move forward.  Just for reference, the state of Catatonic is a very unpleasant state indeed.  Do not visit.

I made the rounds of every store with paint chips (even Restoration Hardware), collected approximately 4,000 more chips, debated their various merits and flaws for literally hours on end and then I gave up and did the one thing I knew I would like:

Our Old Kitchen - NOT OPB!

Painted my new kitchen the same color as my old kitchen. SW Halcyon Green for anyone curious.

Bingo baby!  It’s perfect.  Strangely, the color doesn’t look the same here as it did in the old space (it looks more green here, more blue in the old space), but I love it just as much as I did before.

Thank goodness. It only took 3 months to paint one room twice! That’s not so bad, right? Right? Russ seems to think that’s a painfully excruciatingly very long time.

Russ repainting the room with GREAT ENTHUSIASM!

And yes, he is still speaking to me, why do you ask?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Talk is Cheap (and so is paint, thankfully)

  1. Christine says:

    Hooray! A new post! 🙂 I love love love your kitchen. That color is fab-u-lous! My parentals are moving into a place w/ similar kitchen scheme (cabinets, counters, appliances, etc) and I might try to convince my Mom to paint this color. I loveeeee it!

  2. Dena says:

    I just almost fainted when I saw that you had a new post!!!! Yippee! Your posts always crack me up! So glad you are “here,” now can you STAY here?? : )

  3. Jerry says:

    Good gosh – I had almost deleted the favorite and then ‘bam’ new post. Poor Russ. The man is a saint.

Leave a Reply

