Out of Focus

Where’d whooooooooooooooooo go?

(Bonus points for anyone who can name the movie! Anyone?)

Oh, hi!  Remember me?

I didn’t exactly intend on taking an extended Spring Break, but somehow the month of April whizzed by with nary an entry.  What happened?

I had to quiet the noise in my head, I guess.  Notice I said NOISE, not VOICES.  Please don’t send the men in white coats (yet, anyway!)  After 6 months of non-stop renovations, burn-out started to creep in.  It’s easy to keep going when you see major changes daily, like when we tiled the kitchen or built the new cabs, but at some point those major changes stop happening (um, thank goodness!) and you’re left with a big pile of leftover stuff that still needs doing but isn’t quite as interesting (or, truth be told, exciting)*.  It’s just the nature of the beast.

I also got to a point where I was just loathe to make one.more.decision.  I know this frustrated my husband to no end, but months of this color or that finish and what the heck are we going to do about window treatments (I suddenly understand why our next door neighbors have not one single window covering and they’ve lived in their house for more than 2 years!) and I became mentally exhausted.  I’d go to the computer, open wordpress and just stare at the screen.  I’d write a sentence, or maybe two, and then the VERY LOUD whirling sound in my head would ramp up again -what about the electric bill, running to Home Despot for a switch, that load of laundry, what’s for dinner (Hey! We can cook again!), and oh, my gosh I’ve got to get to the gym (another thing that fell off the radar in the lat 6 months) and not one room in this house is done. I’ve got at least three half-finished entries sitting in the drafts folder, but I could never get still enough in my own head to find words to complete any of them.

Totally out of focus.

If this sounds whiny, I don’t mean for it to.  I know my husband we wouldn’t have it any other way then knee-deep in our own DIY mess project list.  But there comes a point when Doing It Yourself becomes Doing IN Yourself and I think I (we?) was right there.  So I offer this up in case anyone else out there is feeling the same in their own project – hang in there. Take a break. Do something else for a while – Russ got back on his bike and rode a hundred miles.  It’s good for the body and the soul.

As for me, it turned out to be the strangest thing that finally quieted the noise: curtains.  Inexpensive curtains from the fancy French department store Tar-jay.  Curtains I already owned, at that.

Really Becky, Curtains?……y’all hang in there with me. I’m getting there, I promise.

You see, since we moved in, our bedroom windows (which have casings that are too shallow to accommodate inside mounted anything, grrrr – an unhappy surprise I discovered after we moved in) have been covered by a white sheet and a beach towel.

Not a particularly chic look. Also, not easy to open and close!

I had curtains and curtain rods from our last house that went with our bedding and would fit the windows, but I hadn’t hung them as I hadn’t found the brackets for the rods.  Lo and behold, while in search of something else THERE THEY WERE.  I can’t even tell you what I was looking for because when I found the brackets, I squealed like a little girl at a Hanna Montana concert and ran right out to the garage to find my professional Curtain Hanger Russ, who kindly came right away to take care of what was CLEARLY a Curtain Emergency.   I needed them to be put up RIGHT THEN or they would just get added to the seemingly infinite list of  stuff.we.still.need.to.do.

They’re not fancy, they’re not expensive, hell they’re not even new but somehow having real working window treatments in ONE room of my house made it finally seem like we are not living in a never-ending project house. We are living in our home.

And then the noise just stopped. Weird, huh?

So that was April. And now it’s May and I can tell things are falling into place both in my head and, slowly, in the house. I’ve got lots to show you, so if anyone is still reading (are those crickets I hear?) thanks for hanging in there & stay tuned.  Also, thank you everyone so much for the comments!  It is so cool to know people (who are not contractually obligated to read this, Hi Mama & Dad) are reading this!

*If anyone out there thinks that I am somehow insinuating that we are done renovating, or even close to being done, let me quickly disabuse you of that notion.  I actually had the thought one day – what will I blog about when we are finished?  And then I looked around at the house and then at the yard (oh the yard, someone please save me from it) and I realized that I’m good to go here for a LONG, LONG time.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Out of Focus

  1. Suzanne Peckham says:

    Hi!

    So happy you are back! Love your curtains. Can’t wait to see what you are up to next.

    I appreciate your ideas…I’m following your steps for my kitchen cabinets. The sanding on the cabinet boxes will be done this week. I should be done with my cabinet doors by Christmas…ha!

    Welcome back…Suzanne

  2. Dena says:

    Yay! You’re back!! I am SOOO glad, missed you terribly.

  3. Russ says:

    Yippee!!! You’re back in the fight. I like the new layout.

Leave a Reply

