Signs you’ve gone off the proverbial DIY deep end, Birthday edition

So, today is my birthday.  But this post really isn’t about me. Or my birthday.  It’s about pie. I know you are all relieved to hear that.

Since it is my birthday and I like pie, I had to make myself one (chocolate cream, for those interested in that sort of thing) because I’m not so much about the cake.

I feel compelled to point out here that about half of our kitchen stuff is still packed up, for a variety of reasons that are much too boring to explain.

Good News!  Found a pie plate and managed to make a pie in our kitchen. Woo-hoo! (counter top pics & details coming shortly, promise)

Bad News!  Cannot find little piece that connects immersion blender to whisk attachment to whip the cream for the pie. No whipped cream on birthday pie = disaster.

Fortunately, Our Pile of Bricks has two things in abundance:  1. Tools

And 2. Slightly less-than-balanced Brilliant people to think up new ways to use them.

I DID NOT KNOW you could put a whisk attachment on a cordless drill!  Why is this not in the manual?  I feel so cheated.

By the way, the pie was fantastic. Back to renovations tomorrow!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Signs you’ve gone off the proverbial DIY deep end, Birthday edition

  1. Christine says:

    Amazing! The engineer in me loves you guys! 🙂

  2. Dena says:

    Leave it to the two of you to figure this one out. When I start my “works for me wednesday” posts I will be sure to add this one and recognize you guys for your brilliance!

  3. Dena says:

    forgot to mention- Happy Birthday!

  4. Cheryl Meinders says:

    Awesome! Julia childs would be impressed!

  5. Emily says:

    I would expect nothing less! Well done team 🙂

  6. Ann says:

    Happy birthday and nice work on the pie!

Leave a Reply

