Blog, Interrupted

All 5 of you nice people reading might have noticed that the blog was extra-special quiet over the last week.  I have a good excuse.  Let’s play a little game, shall we?

What do these two things have in common?

Rental house Backyard

1. The very violent nor’easter that caused the 5th worst flooding in recorded history here in Southeastern Virginia? (which, by the way, also resulted in us losing power and, therefore, HEAT for 3 days?)

and

Mother of the year

2.

My Mama?

Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm, is it:

A: They both arrived in Virginia the same day.
B:  They are both forces to be reckoned with – small but powerful.
C: They both cause you to work really hard under the threat of bodily harm or property damage.
D:  All of the above.

If you guessed D, you’d be right. Last Wednesday, a plane carrying my sweet mother skidded sideways down the runway here in Hampton Roads bringing with it a “white hurricane” as nor’easters are often known.  We currently rent a house in a charming, historic part of Norfolk that has a severe flooding problem. Case in Point:

Shed

Why yes, that is a dock in our backyard - and not our dock. It floated over and got stuck on the fence.

Water at the steps into the house

(Don’t worry, Our Pile of Bricks is NOT in a flood zone. Our new house was high and dry through all of this!)

Despite the horrible weather, being literally trapped in the cold and dark rental house by floodwater, having no lights or heat, my amazing, wonderful Mama spearheaded the organization and packing of our pile of junk from the rental to the new house.  Now, under normal circumstances, this is might be no big deal – but like every thing we do, this project has what the consultants like to call limiting factors:

We can’t put anything in the main part of the house because the wood floor installation is still ongoing.
We want to minimize what we put in the kitchen because that’s the next area to be destroyed improved.
The garage is already full, mostly because of the materials for #2.
We have a lot of stuff.
I drive a Honda Accord.
Neither of us are Olympic lifters.

This pretty much left us with the bathrooms and the room above the garage for places to put stuff.  Awesome.

Somehow, someway, she managed to get most everything from point A to point B and did not attempt to wring my neck along the way.  I should note that we’re talking stuff here, not furniture (the movers come for our furniture on Monday).  We still have a quite a bit to do this weekend, but I can’t imagine what world of hurt we’d have been in if she hadn’t come.

I confess that when she got here,  I was exhausted from the previous weeks of work and mentally worn down.  I just didn’t have anything left.  Mama gave orders and nagged provided direction and general encouragement which was exactly what I needed.

Of course, she’s always known exactly what I needed.  She’s my Mama, after all.
(Also, she made soup and froze it so we have something to eat next Monday night when we move in. I know you are jealous, but you can’t have her, she’s mine!)

Mother-bird, I love you more than my black pointy-toe Cole-haan slingbacks and I think I might have taken a flying leap off the roof if you hadn’t come to help. You are the best mother ever, and I promise I won’t let Russ put you in a trailer in the backyard like he always threatens.  Promise.  Love, little duck.

Next Up: It’s all in the details.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Blog, Interrupted

  1. Christine says:

    Love this post and your little tribute to your mama. Awesome writing and so very entertaining! 🙂

  2. Speedy says:

    Do you ever have guest when it is not flooding?

Leave a Reply

